Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Laser Driver Troubleshooting?

Noura

May 13, 2014
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum. I made an account specifically to ask this question (haha.) I'm pretty new to this stuff, as started tinkering in January and fell in love. I'm self-taught so I acknowledge that there are gaps in my knowledge.

I am attempting a laser pointer, and am at the point where I'm breadboarding the driver circuit. Maybe I'm misunderstanding the point of a driver, but shouldn't it be significantly reducing the voltage going to the diode? I put some probes at the end of the circuit and hooked them to my meter, and it's still almost the whole 9V that I powered it with (something like 7.5V way too much for a 3V laser.)

I figure that there must be four possibilities: one, I'm probing the wrong spot; two, I wired something wrong; three, I should power it with less voltage; four, I'm misinterpreting the point of this circuit.

Anyway, I'm going to post the circuit diagram and the breadboard I put together. Let me know if I need another angle of the breadboard; it seems clear to me but then again I put it together hahaha. Ignore that part with the toggles and LEDs, that's another thing.Screen Shot 2014-05-12 at 8.33.27 AM.png IMG_5839.JPG
And if you don't feel like looking at my messy circuit and just know some common mistakes/can figure it out from the description, I will appreciate any and all help so comment away.

Thanks!
Noura :)

kpatz

Feb 24, 2014
The circuit you posted regulates current, not voltage. This is what you need for a laser diode, but measuring the voltage across it while open-circuit won't give you the expected results. Connect a load across the output (such as a 10 ohm resistor) and measure the current (in series with the load) or the voltage across the load and derive the current with Ohm's Law.