Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Laser dalek!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bald head

Aug 2, 2014
Hi everyone, first off let me say I'm new to this site and I'm not very good with electronics, as you are about to find out!! I have a rather superb 18inch r/c dalek which is also voice interactive and really quite good, it has a 'gun' with a blue LED at the end of it, when the dalek says exterminate the LED lights up, I also have a green laser pen which produces a superb bright beam, I thought it would be fantastic to join the two up, the dalek says exterminate and a bright green laser appears, but although trying a few different methods I can't get it to work, I've used a multi meter on the dalek, it puts out 3.0v when it wants to exterminate, the laser pen uses two 1.5v AA battery's, but according to the multi meter the battery's put out 1,800 MA and the dalek puts out 0.01 MA, I was thinking of using the battery's to light the laser and having the circuit broken with a relay or transistor which would use the power from the dalek to join the circuit when it says exterminate, but to be honest I'm no electronics expert, does anyone know of anyway it can be done? any help would be fantastic, cheers!!!!!

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to EP :)

how exactly did you measure the current from the batteries ?

Dave

Bald head

Aug 2, 2014
Hi dave, what a great site! I put the battery's in a proper battery holder with the positive and negative wires already attached, then I just used the multi meter, do you think this is a realistic project? Or am I just dreaming? Cheers for your help!

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hi dave, what a great site! I put the battery's in a proper battery holder with the positive and negative wires already attached, then I just used the multi meter, do you think this is a realistic project? Or am I just dreaming? Cheers for your help!

Hi
Yes I would think its no problem. Just waiting for our resident Darlek expert Kris to come on line. :)