Connect with us

Laser Beam Timer

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by digger, Dec 23, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. digger

digger

Dec 23, 2016
    HI I am hoping someone can help

I am looking at building a timing system for whippet racing, It would need to be activated as the trap doors are released then stopped when the dog/dogs crossed the winning line with is anywhere between 150-200 meters away. the track width is approx 3 meters

Weather proof is a must and one thing i can't get my head around is the dogs re different sizes and different parts will pass the line first so ideallty the beam would be broken by the dogs nose but unsure how to do that. The dogs chase a drag lure which is a plastic sack which would go infant and hopefully underneath the beam.

Any help advice would be great as I'm a totally beginner and unsure of what components and set ups i would require but I'm desperate to give it a go.

cheers

2. chopnhack

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
    Some broad strokes if you like:

I would approach this project with the assumption that I could attach a microswitch on the lever that activates the trap door. This switch would be the input to a microcontroller of some sort (arduino or purpose built chip). The microcontroller would then need to receive another input from a wide beam 'electric eye' that would need to be calibrated to provide a sufficiently wide enough swath to capture the first object that crosses its path. As you say the lure will dive down at the end of the track. This should account for the bobbing of the dogs head hopefully and capture whichever snout passes first.