Maker Pro
Maker Pro

laptop power issue

riget

Mar 12, 2010
Hi all, first post and I've got a problem with a laptop, a toshiba u300, I hope you can help me with.
I have little electronics knowledge, but am willing to learn.
The problem is, the laptop will not turn on unless I remove the power adapter and battery and hold the on button for about 20 seconds, the laptop runs fine then but every time I turn it off it doesn't start again, it's dead, no lights no nothing, I have stripped it down and have found that if I remove the battery and put a voltmeter on a capacitor, it reads 12v then goes quickly down to around 2v, then the laptop will boot.
The battery has 9 connections, I have found that when the laptop will not boot, 2 connections have 12v all the others have zero, when it will boot, 2 have 12v, 1 has 0.2v, 2 have 3-4v.
So with my little knowledge it seems static electric stops the laptop from booting, I don't think it's the battery as I also have the problem using just the power adapter.
I hope you understand my rather long problem and can give me some idea of what can be the cause.
Thanks
riget.

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
One thing that can prevent normal boots is if the CMOS battery is run down. It can be in the form of a normal coin battery, a small cell-pack, or a battery-backed Clock/RAM chip.

riget

Mar 12, 2010
Yes I did read that, and it was bad, I fitted another but I still have the same problem.
Thanks.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The problem is, the laptop will not turn on unless I remove the power adapter and battery and hold the on button for about 20 seconds, the laptop runs fine then but every time I turn it off it doesn't start again

Sorry, can you explain that again. It sounds like you have to remove boththe power adapter *and* the battery to start the laptop.

That would leave it with no power source at all.