Connect with us

Laptop Dual Screen

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by AdamHH, Mar 3, 2020.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. AdamHH

AdamHH

Mar 3, 2020
    Ok
    So I am in the process of deciding to build a dual screen for my laptop, like this:

I want to use this for my 2nd screen: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/17inch-1...314136?hash=item3b34d30158:g:GbMAAOSwktFdInnB

And this for my power supply: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B...4MYQ8&linkId=2d128f815ba4149cd3a09909a37b4778

For them to connect, I thought about using this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Type-C-U...hash=item46977012b2:m:m5ZJAx4N7AYcmQfxWBIRomg

And then something like this: https://www.amazon.com/HQRP-Barrel-Connector-Step-Up-Coaster/dp/B071WWBZX1

I don't know if it's going to work, as this is my first project of this sort. I would be forever grateful if someone with a little more experience could check if it would work, or if I might have missed something.

I know I forgot the one from the PSU to the converter.

Thanks
    Adam

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    The screen and controller look o.k.
    Why would you use a power bank for power supply? Apart from being portable? The one you have chowen has a 5 V output but the LCD controller needs 12 V. So, o.k., you want to use a step-up booster.
    The one you have chosen is imho not suitable. The LCD controller needs > 2 A (acc. to the specs on the website), the booster cable is supposedly able to deliver just 2 A (a number I doubt). You should use a step-up converter with at least 2.5 A output current. A much more suitable converter is e.g. of this type.