Connect with us

Lab Volt Model 790A will not power up

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by Willard, Dec 3, 2018.

1. Willard

Willard

Dec 3, 2018
    I recently was given a Lab Volt Model 790A oscilloscope that didn't work. I am relatively new to electronics so I am looking for some guidance. I opened the scope up and noticed a resistor that was burned up. It has the number R51 next to it. The color coding on the resistor is burned off so I can't tell what ohm it is. I am looking for a schematic for this scope to determine the resistor number. If I can find the resistor specification I can replace it, however, I am wondering why it burned out. Is there something on the board either before the resistor or after it that caused this failure? I tried to upload a picture of the board but I am getting a failure notice so no pictures for now. Any help would be appreciated. If you need more information please let me know and I will do my best to provide it.
    Many thanks.
    Will

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    Schematics for these types of equipment aren't easy to come by. However it is often possible to make very good guesses based on the actual component layout and associated circuitry.

Post clear images of the board and its surroundings. You will need to resize them for the forum - say 800x600 pixels.

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    I can't find any details on that specific model, but let me make some observations:
    1. It may be rebadged. See if you can find evidence internally of the original model and manufacturer.
    2. If it has a CRT (which also seems likely) then beware that there are dangerous voltages inside. These voltages may persist long after the power is removed.

4. Willard

Willard

Dec 3, 2018