Maker Pro
Maker Pro

kitchen hood: Problem wiring my power-open damper.

mikeBeginner

Sep 21, 2011
Hi. novice here.
I am wiring a relay w/ kitchen hood: it will first power-open a damper before the
fan can get power to run. It spring closes. The hood has lights, that are independent of the fan, ie their own on/off.
Problem: the wire I need to tap, to route thru my relay is always 'hot', even when the fan is off.
So - as soon as I plug in the fan (but not even turn it on), I watch as line voltage goes from this wire, to my 24VDC transformer, to feed both the relay and the 24VDC power-open damper. The damper opens, etc.
What would I see if I open the fan housing?
Can I open up the fan housing and hopefully find a spot that is 'after' the on-switch that I can tap?
My diagram:
http://www.kitchenhoods.ca/catalog/images/Wiring218-1.jpg
Disregard 12V transformer. My model has GU10 line voltage (not MR16s). Lites ARE independent of the fan.
My hard-copy drawing also notes:
Brown-4-fanSpeed 6, Green-5-fanSpeed 5, ..., down to Blue-9-fanSpeed 1.
Again- my problem is that the black wire (2nd one down) is hot always -
Do you think I can I find a point inside the fan housing where I can be 'after' the on-switch ?
I saw johndearmond.com pic where 'variable speed' wires were wrapped into the innards - I'm hoping my hot wire has some clean connections?
(Chinese made, no info on the motor; Seems like Id open sides of the fan to look for the wire - ie no nice entry where the wires enter the housing.

Thank you for advice.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
I do not fully understand your description. However, you need two wires to a switch.

Should the white line in go to the switch and a white wire from the switch go to the gubbins? The switch will then turn everything off.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
I'd wire the damper to the power to the fan.
When the fan turns on, the damper starts opening. It should only take a couple
of seconds to open the damper, and shouldn't be much of a problem for the fan.