Maker Pro
Maker Pro

kids ride on electric bike

sparkyork

Mar 23, 2013
hi all

im a sparky by trade but electronics is another ball game!

got a kids ride on 6v bike that im trying to work out why it doesnt work.

the bike has two relays and and one of them a spdt relay has only three wires going to it and a red wire which appears to have broken off of somewhere else but not sure if it comes from the possitive of the charging socket or somewhere else, if i can post some pics is anybody up for helping me diagnose why the bike has stopped working?

any help would be much appreciated by me and my young lad lol

cheers

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
Be happy to.
First, is your 6 volt battery charged?
You can try connecting the motor directly to the battery and seeing if it works.
The motor, connected up one way turns in a direction. Reverse the two wires and the motor should turn the other. Now your almost there. You might be able to look inside the relay and see how they connect to make the motor do what it is supposed to do.

If your still stuck, post the pictures and the make and model of the bike and maybe one of us can figure it out.

sparkyork

Mar 23, 2013
thanks john

ill get the battery charged and put a circuit diagram of how things are at the moment with the wiring.
dont know the make and model of the bike though.
watch this space

sparkyork

Mar 23, 2013
here is a circuit diagram of the wiring

Attachments

• thomasbike.png
    thomasbike.png
    18.2 KB · Views: 258

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
Sorry, I can't find the datasheet for your helishun hls81.
Are you sure that number is correct. Can you look again?
I suspect it is a relay and that if your loose wire goes to the coils of the relay and that if this wwas connected to one end of the battery the relay would energize. It may be that this connects to the side of the switch opposite to the side the battery is connected to but I'm not sure.
If we can't figure out what the hls81 is you might just have to try in.