Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Key Finder

justminick

Nov 28, 2012
Please Advise Me :) Key Finder

Hello All,

I enjoy trying to make custom made, from scratch things, and I'm looking to try to make the following (Please keep in mind I'm a newbie and I'm going come off sounding really uneducated on this) :

A wireless key finder that has Bluetooth (or something better? RFID? I don't know - please advise) capabilities so that I can sync it to my iPhone. Ideally, it'll be like any other key finder out there - just made by me. I want to though, make it beep and possibly (not necessarily) flash a red light. It'll just be a key chain that will go on a ring with my keys. I can build the holding unit myself (I make models as an architectural designer all the time). This first round will probably be a test run anyways.

Basically, I'm looking for advice on which products I should check out. I was going to just get a Bluetooth sticker and then detect it's presence within my vicinity, but if I am going to do this, I want to do it right.

Thank you,
Nicki

Last edited:

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
I would say start with some bluetooth chips/devices and work out how the detection and send/receive goes, you are going to need to make it so that when the phone syncs with the device, it receives the handshake which starts the beeping that you want.

I personally would start with one of my arduino's and a bluetooth shield, then try to work out the signal that is output through the shield when the handshake with the phone is successful then try to engineer a general circuit that will beep once that signal happens

I hope this gets you started in the right direction at least

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
ok a few things to consider on this. first and foremost is power. check the power consumption of a bluetooth device.on bluetooth 4.0 they got a new feature called BLE but I cannot find a cheap unit that uses this, so your keychain may have to be charged daily(or more often).