Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Jacob's Ladder help

guitarguy89

Sep 15, 2014
Alrighty,

This will be my first AC project, until now all my electronic projects have been DC. Before a long thread is begun about the dangers of a Jacob's Ladder you can rest assured. Though my escapades in the world of alternating current is limited, I have some knowledge of it and huge respect for its capabilities. Most importantly those that will kill you. I have a glass box constructed to house my Jacob's Ladder.

I will break down my confusion into two simple questions.

1.) I'm working off a few different designs from the internet and salvaged a transformer from a microwave. The plans I'm working from give a voltage rating of 9kv to 12kv, this one is only 5kv. Will this be enough to get the desired effect?

2.) The transformer I am using has an extra wire aside from the primary and secondary coils. It coils a few times around the core and exits. Is this for an auxiliary part of the microwave and therefore can be ignored in this application? (picture attached to better explain what I mean.)

Attachments

• transformer.JPG
    transformer.JPG
    23.9 KB · Views: 165

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
The "safest" way to power a Jacob's Ladder is with a neon sign transformer, which is constructed to be current-limited when the secondary is shorted. The transformer from a microwave oven has no such current-limiting because it is designed to deliver a kilowatt or so to the magnetron oscillator. A Jacob's Ladder is essentially a short-circuit across the transformer when the arc is running, so the transformer needs to be current-limited in its output.