Connect with us

Is my schematic correct?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by FrankS, Apr 13, 2021.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. FrankS

    FrankS

    4
    0
    Apr 13, 2021
    I have designed a simple circuit with buttons and leds to be used with a raspberry Pico board.
    Can someone advice me if this is correct so that I can order a PCB?
    Thank you
     
  2. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,901
    1,971
    Sep 5, 2009
    well it would help if you showed us the circuit
     
    Martaine2005 and Harald Kapp like this.
  3. FrankS

    FrankS

    4
    0
    Apr 13, 2021
  4. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,813
    2,752
    Nov 17, 2011
    Requires login - impractical. Please upload here as image. File size <300 kB should work well.
     
  5. FrankS

    FrankS

    4
    0
    Apr 13, 2021
  6. Bluejets

    Bluejets

    5,158
    1,077
    Oct 5, 2014
    It is more conventional ( and less troublesome) to add pull-up resistors in software and to run switches to ground.
    Naturally alter code to suit.
     
  7. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,813
    2,752
    Nov 17, 2011
    • Power supply to the chip is missing.
    • Bypass capacitor on the chip's power pins is missing.
    • Buttons lack a pull-down to draw the input to GND when not pressed - unless you can use internal pull-down resistors at the GPIO pins.
     
  8. FrankS

    FrankS

    4
    0
    Apr 13, 2021
    Thank you all for your suggestions.
    I should clarify that I do not propose to use the RPI2040 chip but the board like in the pic below
    picoboardwhiteangle2_1024x1024_grobo.jpg
     
  9. bertus

    bertus Moderator

    2,162
    810
    Nov 8, 2019
    Hello,

    Without the code, we can not tell if the right connections are used.
    In the code the inputs and outputs must be declared.
    Also what should happen with the leds and switches is in the code.

    Bertus
     
  10. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,813
    2,752
    Nov 17, 2011
    Pull-up or Pull-down resistors for the buttons are missing anyway. You can use internal pull-ups or pull-downs on the processor, but you need to declare the use of these in software, see here (with the button connected to 3V3, pull-down is what you will need).
    Also you may want to or need to debounce the buttons. This example is for the raspberry Pi 4 but the principle is the same for the pico.
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-