Connect with us

Is my IR photo interupter dead? Can you test them

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by apples, Jan 25, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. apples

apples

Jul 1, 2012
    I am tinkering with an optical IR photo interupter that I have found on the back of some small motors.

The IR LED works as I can see it using the video camera on my phone. But for the life of me I can not seem to get any signal from it.

The problem might be me as I am new to this, but with it all hooked up (only 3 wires) +, - and signal. Not much happens. The light turns on but what is the green signal wire on this thing supposed to do?

Is it just like a switch, I tried to measure any voltage between this green signal wire and the -ve and nothing. Then I plugged in a normal LED with the correct value resistor to see if it would light up etc, nothing.

I have given this 12v . Might have been too much, who knows. No pops or escaping smoke was observed :)

So can I test just the IR receiver part at all?

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Tell us the part number you're dealing with or post at least a photo. There are many kinds of such sensors.

Chances are you need an amplifier because the receiver is a photodiode or phototransistor with only a weak signal.

3. apples

apples

Jul 1, 2012
    Part number I get : 7STS-04
    94v-0

Attached Files:

4. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Did you try blocking the path and see if that made a difference on the signal line? It is possible that the signal goes high when it is blocked.

Bob

5. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    94V-0 is an UL marking of the PCB, not relevant for the function of the sensor.