Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Interference in video switching circuitry

xTamx420

Feb 16, 2015
Hi,

I'm working on a audio/video switch project with a lot of SPST chips in the circuit. It's supposed to route 16 analog RCA inputs to 2 outputs.

I rigged it up on a breadboard and for the most part it works really well BUT sometimes a bit of one signal will go backwards through the switch chip and find its way into the wrong display. This only seems to happen when one is particularly bright, a white screen for example.

Is there a way to block electricity from going in certain directions? I was reading about diodes which seems like the way to go but when I tried them it made the picture terrible. Barely there actually. I dont think the forward voltage of the analog signal is strong enough to get through the diode. I'm very new to electronics design so any help would be appreciated.

Alternatively I could try different chips but I'm having a hard time finding ones that will work for me. Right now I have chips with 4 SPST switches which are connected in pairs on one end. This essentially gives me two SPDT switches. But that is why the signal leaks into other lines.

I would prefer to have a chip that is either an SP3T switch with one going to output A, one to B and one not connected for an OFF state, or to have an SPDT switch with a third state where neither is connected.

I found these: http://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en/TS5A3357DCUR/296-17404-1-ND/695802

Which are great except for the fact there there is only a single switch in each IC. I need to route 102 signals so 102 IC's is too much. Does anyone know of a similar chip with more than one switch per chip? The package is too small on that as well as I need to hand solder these chips and US8 is just too small. It would also be great if it were a single supply

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
the only multi switch chip I know of is the CD 4066 4 x SPST switches