Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Interfacing different remote control systems...

wedderwedder

Jan 19, 2010
Hello,
Background on me - i work as an antenna designer - so have access to some SIMPLE electronics - and i mean simple....

Issue - a colleague has a work lagre TV screen set up with 'curtain' that opens up via remote control. press once to open (you cant hold the button down) press another button to close. Anyway. I would like this to open automatically when i turn on my amp. When i turn this on i do get a 12V OUT supply from teh amp. All i need is something that will effectively press 'open' on the remote when i switch on the 12v and then press 'Close' on teh remotw when the 12v is off. Now i have not got any real idea how to do this and i am not sure i have come to the right place to ask,. If this is a big difficult circuit and i am being cheeky asking for help then please tell me. Thanks in advance

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
No problem, you are being too humble if anything.
One solution could be to use a capacitor in series with the switched 12V, one resistor and two opto-couplers. 12V going up activates one coupler for some time and 12V going down activates the other coupler for the same time. Opto outputs are connected to respective button tracks on the curtain remote. Get the idea?
I can't guarantee it'll work just like that/ right away, & you might have to experiment a little with component values.

wedderwedder

Jan 19, 2010
Hi Resqueline
thancks for the reply.

Dont mean to be a pain but i forgot to mention that the remote for the electric curtains is RF does this make any difference?.

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
No problem. Neither is the RF bit as buttons are dc operated anyway. You'll have to solder into the remote nevertheless.

wedderwedder

Jan 19, 2010