Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Interfacing Bluetooth module to a MCU

skoushik333

Jan 25, 2012
Hi,
I'm doing a project which involves a Bluetooth module, a Proximity sensor and a Microcontroller. Basically, it works like this:
When the sensor gets triggered (by an obstacle), the device should be able to send a message to a cellphone via Bluetooth.
I'm very new to this stuff, so I'd appreciate it if any guidance is offered. I've attached the circuit diagrams of the proximity sensor(which was fully assembled when I bought it), and the design which I did (which I'm guessing is wrong).
I'd be glad if any of you can help me out.

Attachments

• ckt.jpg
    ckt.jpg
    24.9 KB · Views: 400
  • Image002.jpg
    Image002.jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 410

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
I can't tell you about Bluetooth. But let me not ethis:

1) operating the 8051 from 9 V is a bad idea, even with the series resistor. The voltage at the VCC pin of the 8051 will vary depending on the current consumption. Better add a voltage regulator. In this case asimple linear regulator 7805 or 78L05 should sufice. Check the power consupmtion of the 5 V cicuit to determine whether you need the larger 7805 or the smaller 78L05 and also whether you need a heatsink.

2) The connection of P3.0 and P3.1 to TxD and RxD, respectively, looks o.k.

Harald

skoushik333

Jan 25, 2012
I can't tell you about Bluetooth. But let me not ethis:

1) operating the 8051 from 9 V is a bad idea, even with the series resistor. The voltage at the VCC pin of the 8051 will vary depending on the current consumption. Better add a voltage regulator. In this case asimple linear regulator 7805 or 78L05 should sufice. Check the power consupmtion of the 5 V cicuit to determine whether you need the larger 7805 or the smaller 78L05 and also whether you need a heatsink.

2) The connection of P3.0 and P3.1 to TxD and RxD, respectively, looks o.k.

Harald