Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Insignia TV won't turn on

KilgoreCemetery

Apr 12, 2017
I'm a bit of a noob at this, but I have the back of the tv off and have been checking the PCB with a multimeter. The problem is that a lot of the readings fluctuate as I'm reading them. Is this a common issue with a common cause or is it something I have to track down? I have no idea what this indicates. Where do I go from here?

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
It would probably help us to help you if you list the model number on the back of the TV, maybe we can find a schematic for it to give you an idea of where to look.
The most obvious thing we'd check first however, are any fuses inside the television.
Unplug the set from the wall. Look inside for any fuses, remove the fuse and use your multimeter on the resistance function to check for continuity.
The second most obvious thing any of us would do, is with the TV unplugged, physically look at the components on
the printed circuit boards for any obvious physical damage, or evidence of overheating.
That should keep you busy until somebody here finds a schematic for your set.
You know the set is not working. Don't plug it in again until you check the above items first.

KilgoreCemetery

Apr 12, 2017
Thanks for the reply, shrtrnd. The model number of the TV is NS-32D201NA14. Not sure which of the numbers is for the model of the power board, but maybe 6MY00320C0 or 569ME2320.

The only fuse I see looks like an electrolytic capacitor, but is labeled FUS01 on the circuit board. It is reading zero ohms, but do I need to actually remove it from the circuit board to test it or is that good enough for now?

Also, I did give the power board a good look over (front and back) and there are no obvious signs of damage. No black spots and all the capacitors are flat on the top.