Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Info for 2N3904 and 2N3906

spike1947

Feb 4, 2016
Hi

As I am a beginner into Electronics I am always asking questions that may seem obvious to other members on here so I am apologising in advance .

I have a attached a schematic , can someone explain to me the difference to a 2N3904 and a 2N3906 apart from the different electron flow( ie could they be used for the same project but pinned opposite ) , and also in the pic I see it has a pic of the transistor, were the legs are numbered from the flat face E B C ,is that the same for both of these , in the diagrams below that they are shown opposite's ! .

I did say I am new to electronics .

ps: attached a pic of a 2N3906 !

spike

Attachments

• 2N3904 and 2N3906 to-92.gif
    2N3904 and 2N3906 to-92.gif
    4.9 KB · Views: 32,280
  • drawing 2N3906.jpg
    drawing 2N3906.jpg
    5.5 KB · Views: 8,648
Last edited:

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
There is a long way for you to go learning.

1. The pin-outs in this case are the same.
you should always check the datasheet of the device(as you did) for that.

2. "pinned opposite" is not at all defined !
NPN and PNP can ,and are used in the same project.
The way they are connected depends on the application needed.

3. You should study the behavior and uses of BJTs ,there are many tutorials on the Web.

4. Viewing the differences between NPN and PNP as being
" different electron flow" is a good way to start.
I would put it like that :
" The difference being changing the polarity of the voltages and direction of the currents".

5. Most beginner have more difficulties understanding
PNPs than NPNs...

Last edited:

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
The term I've always heard for devices like this is that they are 'complementary'
The NPN version of this transistor is the complementary PNP device.
There are a lot of similar complementary devices used in electronics.