Connect with us

increase pulse voltage

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by auboy, Apr 9, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. auboy

auboy

Apr 9, 2014
    Hi,

As a newbie I'm looking for help. So currently I'm building a simple monostable multivibrator using 555 and the result is as close as I wanted. But I want the amplitude of the pulse is 100V but the signal that I get like picture shown below

[​IMG]

it's 9 V as 555 has max of 15V. Is there any way I can increase it? few of my friends told me that I can use BJT transistor, But since I'm a newbie in building electronic stuff so I do not know which one and I tried using 2N5550 but even when I did not trigger the multivibrator, the output is just pulsating to 150V. And all I wanted is just like one hot pulse like picture above but the amplitude is 100V.

Is there any suggestion?

Thank you,
    Auboy

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Welcome to the forum.

you need a driver (or amplifier) to increase the signal level of the 555 to 100V or more. Ths circuit is rather simple:
    [​IMG]

Observe the necessayr characteristics of the transistors with regard to the load. The schematic is an example and needs to be fine tuned for the load resitor (or load current).

Attached Files:

• asta.png
      asta.png
      File size:
      65.5 KB
      Views:
    auboy likes this.
  3. auboy

auboy

Apr 9, 2014
    Thank you so much Harald Kapp...
    This is the result of my simulation using your guidance

[​IMG]

as you can see there in the first signal there is signal goes to negative. why is that happen??

I attached the the circuit perhaps I did something wrong with the circuit

[​IMG]

Also there is another question that I want to ask.

how much is the fastest time period that 555 can do? Can it do 10 ns??