Connect with us

In need for a high current switch

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Sabin, Jul 2, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Sabin

Sabin

Jul 2, 2013
    Now, it's been many a year since I've done any electronics work, and so I'm pretty much back to total newb when it comes to this stuff.

I'm faced with the need for a high current solid-state switch to handle the loads that an RC helicopter handles, so we're talking 45 amps minimum. I could go with a relay, but those things are bulky and heavy. I was hoping something FET based would be lighter.

Also, weight and space is a consideration so it needs to be able to handle the demands without any excess.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    A solid state relay comes to mind, or a mosfet capable of the current.

How often would it be switching on and off, and what is the source of the signal to do so?

3. BlinkingLeds

BlinkingLeds

Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013
  4. Sabin

Sabin

Jul 2, 2013
    Once before the flight, to supply the speed controller with current, and once after the flight has finished. The source will just be a toggle switch.

5. (*steve*)

Jan 21, 2010
    OK, in that case you should be able to use a mosfet with a low Rds(on) with a very small heatsink (possibly none at all if it it attached to the body of the model or if it is in airflow).

Connect a 100k resistor between the gate and the source, and a 10 ohm resistor between the gate and the switch. The switch should connect this to either the +ve supply or ground.

The 100k resistor provides a path to turn the mosfet off, but it MUST be turned off hard by the switch or you will likely kill the mosfet.

Use an N channel mosfet, connect source to ground and connect the load between the drain and the +ve of your battery.