Connect with us

I'm new to electronics

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by phileaton, Oct 11, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. phileaton

phileaton

Oct 11, 2010
    Hi everyone, I'm a sophomore in high school and I'd love to learn more about electronics. One thing I tried to do, stupidly I know, was take the wall plug off a lamp, and take of the rubber end and touch the negative and positive sides to a metal plate, then plugged it into the wall. The first time I tried this with a brass plate and it sparked yellow and fairly large, the second time, I tried it with a silvery metal, probably aluminum? and this time it glowed bright green and had a span of a foot give or take. the fuse blew in that area of the house. Could anyone explain why it sparked at all first off, then why the spark changed color and height? I assuma this has to do with intensity, but I'd love to know for sure. Finally, why did the fuse blow? Thanks for your time!

2. NickS

NickS

Apr 6, 2010
    How is your parents insurance(fire/health/life)? Because you are well on your way to helping them file a claim on one or more.

The fuse blew because its calling in life is to stop you from destroying the house. When you direct short the two lines through a piece of metal you are dumping huge amounts of energy through not just the metal plate but also the outlet and household wiring. If the fuse or breaker did not do its job you would end up melting the wires in your wall and destroying the outlet and perhaps catching the structure on fire. And you very easily could have killed yourself as well. I think a consensus is that 0.2Amps across your heart can be lethal and you were pushing significantly more than your fuse was rated at 5A, 10A, 20A?

Its fine to be interested in high power but you need to find a safer was to exercise your curiosity.

3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    Another Darwin Awards Candidate in the making :rolleyes:

D

4. phileaton