Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Ideas

Burnsie90

Apr 16, 2015
I am a total novice with electronics. I am making a prototype of my invention and I need some advice on how to make it work. I have a small enclosure that will have a part with a gear in it. I have this wireless devise: http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/6483336769.html?orderId=65702578791853. What I need is when I push the button on the remote a 3.7v motor will turn my gear approximately 2 revolution, then when the button is released the motor turns the gear back the same 2 revolutions.

I was thinking of a stepper motor, but I have no idea how to control it. I have tried to look into them and was hoping to find one board that will control and drive the stepper motor.

My other issue is that all this needs to be done in my small enclosure approximately 2inches by 2inches.

Eventually, I will have a company manufacture the electronics for all this, but I need to get a prototype working.

Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

Thank you,
Kevin

KMoffett

Jan 21, 2009
You're going to need to know how much current your motor and receiver are going to draw to get an idea big a battery you are going to need. I would use an 8-pin PICAXE microcontroller (just my favorite for one-offs) and a stepper driver board like this: https://www.pololu.com/product/2134

Ken

Burnsie90

Apr 16, 2015
I ordered some parts and I am starting to figure out how this all works. I can't wait for them to get in to try it out. Thank you Ken for your suggestions. I do not know how much current the motor and receiver us. I am hoping that all this will work with a 110mah Li-on rechargeable battery.

Burnsie90

Apr 16, 2015