Connect with us

i think its a latching circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by donkey, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    am hoping to make a circuit that latches. simple design using a peizzo, led and relay. when a switch is activated even if momentarily the circuit closes and stays closed lighting the led and sounding the peizzo. then i want a second switch to unlatch the circuit and reset it. i have a basic plan
    http://img860.imageshack.us/i/latching.jpg
    when sw2 is closed rlay activates locking closed and lighting the led and sounding the buzzer. when sw1 is press the circuit is opened and the relay unlatches. I hope anyway
    forgive the rough diagram but i have no cad program just mspaint

    is this going to work? or does anyone have another idea?
     
  2. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  3. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    am trying to think of what else will do it. your pics look good too. any idea why it won't work? am looking at it and thinking it will work... going to modify it soon. wanna keep it simple as this is my first time at making a circuit.
     
  4. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    i just want this circuit to lock and make noise and light when sw2 is pressed. then to "reset" it you open switch 1.
     
  5. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    ok this mite be a bit clearer :)

    [​IMG]



    cheers

    Dave
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
  6. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    you are awesome... ty
     
  7. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    haha thanks, but if I could figure out how to show inline images on the forum then maybe I mite be awesome haha

    with your piezo... just remember there are 2 types, one that is just a piezo disk, it needs an external oscillator, and the one you need for this project, that has an inbuilt oscillator, so it only needs power applied to it

    cheers
    Dave
     
  8. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    i saw a link down the bottom bout img... hope that helps you out somewhat
    it is there when i post a reply... very bottom left hand side
     
  9. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,191
    2,693
    Jan 21, 2010
    See your original post. (I made you awesome!)

    I have edited it to include an inline image. If the description doesn't help, you should be able to "edit" it to see what I've done.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
  10. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,191
    2,693
    Jan 21, 2010
    You must be using a microsoft product :p

    It looks fine from here. Maybe your browser doesn't like displaying .bmp images?
     
  11. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    it displays bitmaps on other www pages including my own www site
    thats nutz .... ok I will clean up the first post and get rid of excess images etc

    Dave
     
  12. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    made the circuit now i need to find a switch that reacts to vibration...
     
  13. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    ok I assume to replace one of the switches already in the circuit, which one?

    there are pressure mats but specifically for vibration will the unit causing the vibration be a physical vib. activiting the switch (contact), or a sound vibration (non-contact) ?

    I googled vibration sensor switch... dozens of links, do the same and see if you can find one that suits your needs :)

    Dave
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2011
  14. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,191
    2,693
    Jan 21, 2010
    Some of these sensors are as simple as a thin piece of metal anchored at one end (which is one connection) and with a small weight at the other. With vibration, the free end moves and makes contact with another terminal. Often there is some form of adjustment to set how close the contacts are when at rest (thus controlling the sensitivity)
     
  15. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    i had a look at the vibration switches. i wonder if there are any that are adjustable.... to everyone that helped me so far thank you so very much
     
  16. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    my ideal one will be small adjustable and cheap..... so far this item is costing me $30au and i am hoping to keep it under $50au including the housing... but i guess thats just a dream lol
     
  17. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    [​IMG]

    http://img534.imageshack.us/i/switchc.jpg/
    i think this is my design for the switch. 1 will be a copper (or other conductive material)cone piece. 2 will be tension springs, i might remake the design later to have the adjustable strengths. 3 is a bolt bar, threaded. 4 will be 2 nuts with a washer in the middle to adjust up and down depending on the vibration sensitivity needed. the reason i am using 2 is so they lock each other in place and don't move. the cone piece and the washer will have the wires attached thus forming a very basic vibration sensor with momentary contacts.
    the problem i have so far i s my metal working skills are limited and i have a lack of time so this may take me a few weeks
    P.s. i hope this link works
     
  18. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,191
    2,693
    Jan 21, 2010
    This may be simpler.

    [​IMG]

    A and B are your 2 connections.

    The thin piece of metal (essentially a flat spring) extending between them (spring steel or similar) is fixed at one end, and has a mass on the other end. A screw adjustment controls how close the B contact is to the spring. Movement (up and down in this case) will cause the contacts to close briefly.

    This is probably also quite easy to manufacture too.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    the switch is going to be mounted down a 50mm pipe. so am hoping that works vertically too lol. i was looking at my design and thought about the simplest protoype. rather than a copper cone i might find some wire, bout 8 strands make them into a cone shape at 45degrees apart.. this may be the basic switch i need. the circuit works very well this sensor switch and then the housing will be my last 2 parts then i will have completed my first idea.... this is exciting to say the least
     
  20. donkey

    donkey

    1,286
    56
    Feb 26, 2011
    steve or any other mod. i think i have passed the circuit help section of this project but would love to keep discussing it, is there anyway to move it to the projects part of the forums?
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-