Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I need a LOT of help designing a mixer

Status
Not open for further replies.

u=0

Jul 8, 2010
(First a quick preface about me ...) I'm a part-time audio engineer and drummer. I know how to hook up gear and use it, but I know almost nothing about the insides of it. I can read schematics for and build most simple devices, but understanding and designing them is something I'm only just now getting into.

So with that being said, I welcome almost any productive answer you may have. Even if it's only to say, "Whoa! You're getting in way over your head. First read this [book/site/thread/etc] then come back after," that's fine, too.

The scenario:

I have 8 mics hooked up to my drums but only two input channels available on the house mixer, so I need to 'pre-mix' my 8 mics into a stereo feed for it. I'd also like to have a headphone amp on it to reference my mix or to use during practice.

If I had $500 to spend on my own mixer, this would be an easy fix, but I don't. So, I'd love to just build a simple mixer for this specific purpose instead. But, my budget is extremely low: $50 for parts would thrill me.

When I first started thinking about this, it seemed simple, but as I got further in and started breaking down each portion of the build, I realized there were too many questions I can't answer:

1.) For the sake of expenses, not including pre amps onboard is ideal, but can mic-level signals even be mixed on a circuit board without butchering the sound quality?

2a.) Will the balanced signal need to be converted back into an unbalanced signal? (I'm thinking yes.)

2b.) How is a balanced signal converted back into an unbalanced signal?

2c.) How is an unbalanced signal converted into a balanced signal?

3a.) How do I create Phantom Power, or can I allow Phantom Power from the house mixer to 'pass through' my build to my mics?

3b.) How do I filter out the DC Phantom Power from other parts of the build that don't need it?