Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I have no experience in electronics and can not figure this out!

Bogomil Petrov

Sep 14, 2015
Hey guys! I can across a software that allows you to use mouse and keyboard input on a gaming console. The project seemed simple enough to use but then I saw that it needed a "DIY USB Device". This is where my pain begun!
This page (http://gimx.fr/wiki/index.php?title=DIY_USB_adapter#Wiring) explains what to do but because I have no experience with electronics I'm totally lost.

I will order everything the page wants me to. It has 2 electronic parts that are a USB to serial TTL and a USB development board.
The USB development board is where im struggling! It says that I can use a board called Teensy 2.0 for this part but as they're expensive im opting for the cheap ebay ones.
**The thing is that in This Tutorial (http://gimx.fr/wiki/index.php?title=DIY_USB_adapter_for_dummies) They use a teensy and just wire things up and program the board and thats it! The thing is that next to the text for my cheap eBay usb development board that was written on the previous page it says that i need an "ISP"!**

My questions:

1. What is an ISP in correlation with USB development boards
2. Do I need it with the parts im getting
3. Can I use the cheap USB development board like they used the Teensy from the tutorial posted above?
4. Will the parts I have chosen work for this project. The tutorial seems very simple and I have no problem with soldering!
5. Do I need anything extra with my chosen parts that isn't in the tutorial or will I still be OK with my 2 chosen components?

The parts I chose:

USB to TTL: http://www.ebay.com/itm/400565980256)

USB development board: http://www.ebay.com/itm/310634777706)

Thanks for the help guys! Im really confused and this seems very simple. Keep in mind that I have no idea what the things are! :D