Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to wire a LED

Mats

Jan 3, 2013
Hi guys!

I´ve got a product that I want to start manufacturing where I need to wire a 12v model rail way light to a 9 volt battery.

Now I´m a complete noob when it comes to wiring but so far I´ve understood that I need to include some sort of resistance(?) in order to keep the battery from draining within minutes.

I´ll much appreciate any help on this.

Best Regards

Mats

Attachments

• lamp12v.jpg
    lamp12v.jpg
    74.8 KB · Views: 96

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
If the light is a single LED with a resistor designed to work from 12V it will probably work as is from 9V but at a lower brightness. To bring it up to full brightness, you would lower the value of the series resistor that is already there. A 9V battery will be able to drive a single 20ma Led for about 24 hours.

Bob

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
that's a little incan bulb, replacing it would be easy enough with an LED.... (try to finder an LED which is on the warmer side, or you'll not get the street lamp feel (high/low pressure sodium lamps) ...

basically, what LED are you using?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
A really important benefit of using LEDs is that they have the same colour at all brightness levels.

A small surface mount LED would probably work well in this case, maybe covered with a small blob of clear epoxy to simulate the glass.

Mats

Jan 3, 2013
Thank you.

Thanks guys! these replies came a lot quicker than I had hoped.

If the light is a single LED with a resistor designed to work from 12V it will probably work as is from 9V but at a lower brightness. To bring it up to full brightness, you would lower the value of the series resistor that is already there. A 9V battery will be able to drive a single 20ma Led for about 24 hours.

Bob

I don´t think the lamppost has a resistor built in, are you saying that the battery should last 24 hours without a resistor?