Connect with us

How to start off in microcontrollers?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Jheckman1986, May 28, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Jheckman1986

Jheckman1986

May 28, 2012
    I am a newb at electronics, as a matter of fact i am just beginning to an extent.

I am wantign to delve into amateur robotics, specifically small stuff like the size of a coffee can and i would like to move up to making robotic limbs and remote controlled robotics.

My question is how do i start off, are there any good books with full tutorials i should look out for?

Is the PICkit 3 a good Microcontroller programmer to use?

Thanks for your help!:D

2. Maverick

Maverick

May 27, 2012
    Pickit3 is probably the easiest and cheapest ,, tho pickit2 was better IMHO but newer devices are all supported on PicKit3. Great Cheap programmer.

Then Pic a language , if your new to programming go for a basic compiler Proton Development Suite is hard to beat, lots of examples support on the forums ,, take a look.

If you don't mind being limited to one MCU to start with the MYAMICUS which is proton development suite limited to 18F25K20 is free.

N.B Assuming you want to use pic micros

Last edited: May 28, 2012
  3. Jheckman1986

Jheckman1986

May 28, 2012
    Some good ideas but i want to build everything from scratch and so using an arduino like clone is not an option for me, to me it just doesn't seem like a good learn unless i do it myself from scratch.

I want to be able to do this stuff from nothing but parts and for me to use a pre-built board is in my opinion more expensive and it takes away from what i need to learn, which is soldering and basic electronics!

I am not sure what i want to use because i just want to start learning how to program and integrate micro controllers into new projects!