Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to rectify ac to run a dc motor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

boomerdog

May 24, 2013
Hi all, new to the site and need help. I am not an electrician and have only a basic understanding of how things electric work, with that said, on to my problem. I have a Leeson permanent magnet gearmotor that I want to run with rectified ac power. The specs on the motor are as follows,

volts 130
amps .46
h.p. .044 kw
duty S1
torque 23 lb in.
RPM 139

I bought a full wave bridge rectifier, 400v 8a, and when wired to 120ac, I measured 108vdc output. When I wired my motor to it, it ran but smoke immediately came from the motor. What do I need to make this motor run on 120ac?

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
The figures seem to be right. The mean voltage of a rectified sine wave is Vrms*0.9.
The volts, amps, power are consistent.

I cannot help with the smoke.

boomerdog

May 24, 2013
The motor has 3 leads, black, red, and green. I wired black to - and red to + on the rectifier, the green was left un-wired to ground, instant smoke. Then I reversed black and red, which reversed the rotation of the motor, but still instant smoke. I then removed the brushes and the end cap/bearing housing from the motor to have a look inside. The brushes looked fine to my un-trained eye, meaning they were still plenty long. The inside of the motor is wet with a light oil though, I don't know what this motor came from, so no idea of it's previous enviroment.

boomerdog

May 24, 2013
No idea where it came from, but here's a pic of the specs-

and with a tape measure for scale...

DuctDuck

Jan 26, 2013
Greetings, I have small passing familiarity with DC motors and have never seen such strange specs...
:confused: 130VDC (not 13VDC huh, hmm)

If you have DC power supply to vary the volts and current to your perm.mag motor, slowly increase current