Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to practice and use electronics

u0362565

Nov 27, 2013
Hi all,

I'm new to electronics, i bought electronics for dummies and learnt some basics using a solderless breadboard and now i've moved on to soldering and made a few electronics kits like an FM radio etc from manufacturers like Velleman. So i've learnt a fair bit so far and making predefined projects from instructions is fine but i don't really know where to go from here. Eventually you run out of kits that you want to build either out of interest or for a practical use. Perhaps i'm not being inventive enough and should be coming up with my own ideas for what to make? Although that would require more skill as well to pick the right components.

The other issue i've come across is that most kits use DC power sources which again is fine for short term use but ideally i guess i'd like to make things that use AC and take batteries out of the equation but i don't really feel confident enough to take on AC, if i get something wrong it could be quite dangerous.

I just wondered whether other people have come across these problems? It reminds me of when i learnt to play guitar and eventually stopped because i wasn't in a band therefore didn't feel i had anywhere to go with it apart from learning songs i liked and i fear i might go the same way with electronics if i don't have any direction.

Thanks,

Matt

electrocutedUnlessHelped

Nov 27, 2013
Hey Matt,