Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to power a UV-C LED

Kevin Reynolds

Nov 23, 2020
I'm a chemist not an engineer and imagine this must a really basic problem but I'm a complete newbie.
I'm trying to light a UVC LED, with 6.5V forward voltage and 200mA forward current.
I connected to a 30 V benchtop power supply set to 6.5V but nothing happens.
As i missing something fundamental here? All help appreciated.
https://docs.rs-online.com/86f6/A700000006912426.pdf

Attachments

• A700000006912426.pdf
    644.8 KB · Views: 6

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Be carefull with UV light.
It can be harmfull to humans:
https://www.safety.rochester.edu/ih/uvlight.html

Keep in mind that leds are current driven elements and not controlled by a voltage.
Does the power supply have a current limiting setting?
if so, set it at about 200 mA.
The voltage setting may be set higher as the 6.5 Volts.
Keep the cooling of the led in mind.

Bertus

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
nothing happens.
How do you know?
You won't be able to see the deep UV light. Measure the current as an indirect indicator of the LED's function.
Note that you cannot operate an LED on a voltage source alone without current limiting. It will easily go into thermal runaway and burn. The method proposed by @bertus is a good way to protect the LED. Read our resource on LEDs for more detailed information why and how to limit LED current.
At 6.5 V and 200 mA the power dissipation of the LED is 1.3 W. Cooling as also suggested by @bertus is required. Large solder pads (see the datasheet for recommendations) may suffice.

Kevin Reynolds

Nov 23, 2020
As it is now its not emitting - checked with UV sensor and also no fluorescence when placing white paper on top and not seeing a blue glow.
Not sure if my power supply is current limiting - will check today.
Ultimately i want to get to a simple set up with a phone charger type plug in power supply; the samples are to be tested at a university.