Connect with us

How to make a blinking christmas lights?

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by drakemiller40, Oct 21, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. drakemiller40

drakemiller40

Oct 21, 2013
    Please excuse me if I'm not clear. I have no experience at all with these things.

I want to make my own blinking Christmas lights that blink at a constant rate of one second simultaneously that plugs into an outlet and not by battery. Meaning, all leds will blink at the same time and turn off at the same time every one second.

Would I need to use flashing leds for this? and What would I need to make this?

Thanks!

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Do you want to make them from scratch, or control an existing set of (presumably unblinking) lights?

From a cost, time, safety, and effort basis, I would purchase an already made string of LEDs and build a device to flash them.

Unless you want something very special and unique in your string of LEDs you'll find that you can buy FAR cheaper than you can build.

You can build a simple 555 circuit driving a SSR which can switch the mains to the LED lights. This will keep you mostly away from any mains wiring.

3. drakemiller40

drakemiller40

Oct 21, 2013
    I only need a short string of lights less than one ft.

Is it possible to build a device to make store bought christmas lights blink that normally don't?

Would it shorten the life of the leds since the store bought christmas lights aren't made to blink?

4. (*steve*)

Jan 21, 2010
    LEDs are fine to blink on and off.

For a short string of LEDs you would probably be best looking for christmas lights that are battery powered because these tend to have the LEDs in parallel, are really cheap, and very safe to modify.

Then all you need is a power pack to supply a sufficient voltage to drive an oscillator that can turn the LEDs on and off.