Connect with us

How to learn PCB components repair

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Victor43, Jun 3, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Victor43

Victor43

Aug 31, 2011
    Hello all.

I would like to know how to go about learning how to repair the many facet parts of a PC motherboard. I would like to learn how to repair other types of electronic PCBs and not just PC motherboards. So would anyone know how I could learn to repair just about any part (active, passive and chips) of a motherboard ? What kind of tools (i.e retooling station or soldering gun) or equipment (i.e. magnifying glass, oscilloscope) would be needed and how can I gain some practice ? Would there be any good books perhaps I could read or online websites that give tutorials and videos on how to repair just about any component of a motherboard ? Like I said I am a newbie to any kind of electronic repair and have no engineering or electronic degree or background. I have started to read some online sites on how electronics work and how to identify some of the various parts.

This is all very new to me but would like to take this on as a hobby.

Thanks to all

2. Victor43

Victor43

Aug 31, 2011
    How to learn to read schematics

Hello all.

I am new to electronics and have no background training or education. I have been reading some material on electronics and find it very interesting.

Right now I would like to know if anyone could suggest a good book for someone who has very little background in electronics on how to understand PCB schematics. A book that is to follow along and understand for a newbie like me.

Any comments or other suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks

3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi victor
    welcome to the forums :)

well before you start running, you need to learn to crawl and then walk