Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to drive relays?

s57aw

Dec 18, 2013
Hello guys,

I am quite newbie in electronic and more or less self-taught in this area.

I would be happy if you take a look into these schematics with Arduino:
http://remoteqth.com/hw/band_decoder_sch.png

I have project completed and digital outputs from Arduino send signal through resistor and led diode, optocoupler and NPN transistor.

There are 12 open collector outputs and I want to drive 12v relays (about 30ma, 360 ohm coil resistance) on the SV2 outputs.

I have applied +12v to the relay, put diode over coil and connected specific output to other side of the coil but relay doesn't switch, I got only appropriate led diode on but it looks no output for the relay.

What I am missing - appreciate your suggestions. What about pin 13 on the SV2 output, should it be connected somewhere?

Regards,

Robert

Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
PIn 13 is Ground. You connect it to the - of the 12V source.

s57aw

Dec 18, 2013
Thanks Harald,

I was not sure as schematics tells notning about it, it is floating now and probably that's the reason why I get no current throught. Will try that

Robert

PIn 13 is Ground. You connect it to the - of the 12V source.

s57aw

Dec 18, 2013
FYI..

This is "Band decoder" for radio transmitter (TRX). TRX is connected to Arduino with serial cable (only TX, RX and GND is needed). Arduino reads frequency information from the TRX and based on it puts signal to one of the 12 outputs. I need a relay at the output to drive an antenna switch (switching different antennas for different frequencies).

Arduino needs +5v and I would like to use 12v relays at the output. This is not an issue itself, I supply 12v to the board and output relays and using a simple DC voltage regulator from 12 to 5V for Arduino. I don't have two separate PSU, ground is the same and sources are not isolated in current configuration.