Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to determine what resistor to use to reach the desired amperage?

Glitchsteal

Dec 16, 2014
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the electronics scene, so I'm also pretty bad at it and there are plenty of things to learn from you guys :)

Basically I'm hooking up a bunch of PC fans to cool down a bank of electronics equipment at the sound desk at our school. I'm going to use a 12VDC 1A transformer, then hook it up to a PCB, run it through some resistors to then power the fans, as they all run on 12V, just different aperages. I was wondering how I would calculate the value of the resistors I need to, for example, change the 12V 1A load to a 12V, 0.7A load for one of the pc fans? there are a bunch of other different bearings for the other fans so if you could explain how as well that would be great thanks :)

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi there
welcome to the forums

in the case of fans it doesn't matter. The fans will only draw the current they need from the 12V supply
connect the fans in parallel across the 12V DC supply.

just ensure that the total current drawn by ALL the fans adds up to less than 1A
else you will need a bigger PSU

cheers
Dave

Glitchsteal

Dec 16, 2014
hi there
welcome to the forums

in the case of fans it doesn't matter. The fans will only draw the current they need from the 12V supply
connect the fans in parallel across the 12V DC supply.

just ensure that the total current drawn by ALL the fans adds up to less than 1A
else you will need a bigger PSU

cheers
Dave
thanks!!! :)

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
No need for any resistors.
The motors will draw only what they need.
You will NOT however run "a bunch of these motors" as just this one is already 70% of the loading that your 1A power supply will handle.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the electronics scene, so I'm also pretty bad at it and there are plenty of things to learn from you guys :)