Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How To Detect When A Line Goes Low

benlyboy

Mar 10, 2017
Hi new to this forum so let me know is this is miss using it, but I could use some help.

I am basically new to electronic circuit design, played with it when I was a kid but haven’t for years.

i am restoring a vintage motorcycle and as the turn signal bulbs are no longer available I decided To convert them to LEDS.
I don’t want to modify the bikes wiring at all. So I made my own led bulbs to fit the bike. I have built a circuit using a good old 555 timer to flash the LEDS that works great too, except that it runs all the time even when the turn signal isn’t on.
The bike is a very simple circuit. battery to flasher then the turn signal switch onto bulb then ground.
The flasher is a two pin flasher one in, one out ( I added a ground to power the circuit)
what I want is to some how monitor the out put line from the flasher relay and detect when it is an open circuit and when it is grounded, and switch the flasher accordingly.

How would i do this...?

Thanks for any help or ideas

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Just a thought. Have you tried the J.C. Whitney website to see if they have direct LED replacements for you
old bulbs?
Can you post a diagram of what you built?

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
It sounds like the flasher is a series bi-metal switch, and your LEDs do not draw enough current to make it cycle. You can test this with a resistor in parallel with one of your LED bulbs. Something sized to pull 1 A should make the original flasher flash. If that works, it tells us more about how the bike works and what to do next.

What is the bike voltage and the original bulb part number?

ak

benlyboy

Mar 10, 2017