Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How does this circuit work?

Asdf

Dec 20, 2009
Hi, can someone help me understand how this circuit works, I know what transistor, collectors, and resistors are, but what are their function in this circuit, and how does it work part by part? And how accurate is it? I am doing project on this, to find out if skin perspiration changes when one lies. I also don`t understand what the difference between an electrode and a regular wire is, please help.

http://www.aaroncake.net/circuits/lie.asp

Thank You!

kyjosh

Dec 15, 2009
Well, when it talks about electrodes, it basically just means probes. So a regular bare wire stuck to the skin with tape would work.

I'm really not sure how that is supposed to work though. Admittedly I'm fairly new to this stuff, and someone like Resqueline would know better; but that schematic just does't look like it would really work.

What I can see from it, is it is supposed to run a small voltage across the skin. When you lie the skins resistance goes down and causes its curret to go up. The transistor amplifies this small amount of current into the milliamp range that the analog ammeter can read. So when the meter goes up, theoretically the person it lieing. I dunno if that principle is true though.

I don't know why there are two power supplies, and I guess the capacitor is just for filtering. Really, even at such a low voltage, I'm not sure I'd feel comfortable hooking myself up to that thing!

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
I was unable to connect with the site yesterday so I couldn't comment on it then.
The circuit is very simple yet incorporates most aspects of a professional unit.
Professional electrodes incorporate silver oxide & conductive gel, but any piece of metal will do for experiments.
C1 is there to remove noise from the mains and from physical movements.
R1 limits the current that can pass through you and into the base of Q1.
Q1 amplifies the skin current to something suitable for M1.