Connect with us

How can I use a Raspberry Pi for this INSANE project?

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Crohn, Mar 15, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Crohn

Crohn

Mar 15, 2013
    How can I use a Raspberry Pi to create a makeshift AI?

I am a complete newbie when it comes to I/O hobbyist technology :) I am good with computers but I have never owned a Pi before. I think however it could be used for the following project, with the correct coding:

I appreciate your lenience in answering, as my experience in this area is quite limited.
    I want to study "I/O" enough to have the ability to create a device that uses several sensors (e.g. motion, sound, light, pressure,) who's values would be made to play a corresponding MP3 file (or .wav) when reaching a preset value. In essence,

--sensor receives "X" data, which plays "Y" sound file.

By the same token, (and hopefully possible for this same setup)

Speech Recognition- Device "hears" phrase "X", and sound file "Y" plays.

Please be detailed in your responses, if of course you can stomach my ignorance! I KNOW that for the experienced engineer this would simply be a matter of acquiring the correct sensors, tying them into a micro controller of SOME KIND (I was thinking a raspberry, actually? Full functionality?), and writing the correct code to achieve a simple "If , Then" relationship between type of sensory data accumulated, and which corresponding mp3 to play.

The Ras Pi I believe comes with several GPIO pins, so combined with its increased functionality as a full computer, I was thinking of using it?

...Am I on the right track here with all this? I am VERY interested in I/O and willing to learn!!

Thanks!

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Does this help you at all?

Doing something based on a logic level on a GPIO pin is trivial and you should be able to Google that yourself.

3. Crohn

Crohn

Mar 15, 2013
    Thanks