Connect with us

Homemade Coil Help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by philipk, Dec 28, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. philipk

philipk

Dec 28, 2017
    Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie here. I have a project I want to get back up and running.
    It's a "shock box" we the make for electronics class in middle school (late 70's) from scratch.
    I want to get it working again. The coil in it has primary and secondary windings and I've tested it
    with a meter everyday I can think of. The thing has sat in a drawer from 40 years. Could both sets of windings gone bad?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! Kevin
    P.S. attached are 2 crude photos

Attached Files:

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    It's unlikely the windings have gone bad. Have you fitted batteries and tested it?

3. philipk

philipk

Dec 28, 2017
    No... I thought I'd test the coil first then put a battery in it.

4. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    I thought you were gonna dig out an old Ford spark-plug "coil" which used a magnetically-actuated interrupter to rapidly break the current in the primary winding. The rapidly collapsing magnetic field induced a large voltage in the secondary coil. The whole contraption was nicely packaged in a wooden box with well-made finger-joint corners. Two "button" contacts about the size of a dime were connected to either end of the secondary and mounted to the top of the wooden box. A six-volt lantern battery served nicely to energize it. And, yes, it would deliver a very nasty shock with a fresh battery.

With the litigious nature of today's society, I would be afraid to revive, much less actually use, such a device.

5. philipk

philipk

Dec 28, 2017
    A "D" size battery didn't make it work.

6. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010