Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Home made speaker

Appie.123

Jul 7, 2015
Hi,

I'm a beginner on electronics, and I'd like to know I bit more about it.
Therefor I decided to make a simple homemade speaker. I followed some tutorials on this on youtube, but still it doesn't work.
I tried it on my phone, laptop and even on the tv but stil it didn't work.
I didn't use a amplifier as I first wanted to try if it works at all, and I thought that when connected to the tv it should at least produce some sound.
I used a coil made of +/- 3 m of insulated copper wire, and a quiet small, but strong, squared neodymium magnet.
I connected my speaker to the wires of a pair of old earphones.
The coil can move freely over the magnet.
The tree rubber bands serve as suspention.

Does anyone know what could possibly be wrong?
20150707_142858.jpg 20150707_142908.jpg

Attachments

• 20150707_143031.jpg
    20150707_143031.jpg
    231.3 KB · Views: 124
Last edited by a moderator:

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi,

I'm a beginner on electronics, and I'd like to know I bit more about it.
Therefor I decided to make a simple homemade speaker. I followed some tutorials on this on youtube, but still it doesn't work.
I tried it on my phone, laptop and even on the tv but stil it didn't work.
I didn't use a amplifier as I first wanted to try if it works at all, and I thought that when connected to the tv it should at least produce some sound.
I used a coil made of +/- 3 m of insulated copper wire, and a quiet small, but strong, squared neodymium magnet.
I connected my speaker to the wires of a pair of old earphones.
The coil can move freely over the magnet.
The tree rubber bands serve as suspention.

Does anyone know what could possibly be wrong?

View attachment 20803 View attachment 20803 View attachment 20804
Hook it up to a PC and use a function generator app to play various sounds.
Try using a round magnet (or confirm the poled on the square magnet)