Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Home amplifier blowing fuse - HELP!

uengin

Sep 21, 2009
Hi,
Firstly, I hope I am not reposting a thread that already exists. I am a newbie, so please be nice to me :eek:

Secondly I am an electronics engineering student in my third year for background information purposes.

Now, the problem I need help with is this; I have household/domestic amplifier which keeps blowing a fuse, obviously because the circuit is drawing too much current, but I need help to diagnose where and how it is drawing too much current so I can rectify the problem. This unit has a toroid transformer with various outputs. I have tested if the rated unloaded output is actually as rated on the toroid, affirmative. Because there are several outputs there are 3 fuses. The rest of the outputs are unfused.

The output voltages are 0-29V (unfused), 0-6V (unfused), 0-11V (single fused - it's fine doesn't blow), and 29-0-29V (dual fused). The one fuse that keeps blowing is the fuse that is on one out put of the 29-0-29V output. Now there are rectifier circuits following the fuses (as per any power circuit I guess). The fuse that keeps blowing is the centre fuse that is missing in the photo. I have also tried shorting the fuse. What happens is the toroid begins to heat along with the rectifier bridge.

Any ideas and diagnosis procedures clearly outlined will be very much appreciated. Thank you in advance. Included are photos of the fuse section of the board. The track side photo has been flipped horizontally to correlate to the view from the component side.

RIMG0045.jpg

RIMG0044.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
You're on your third year and can't fix a stereo on your own? ;) Just kidding..
Since only one of the two fuses blows there's a short in one of the diodes in the bridge rectifier, or a short in one of the two storage capacitors.