Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hitachi v-1100 oscilloscope repair parts or advice

Richard King

Jan 29, 2018
Recently purchased a nice looking Hitachi V-1100 100Mhz, 4CH, oscilloscope. It has a broken component inside and I am having difficulty locating replacement parts or repair info for the device. I found a service manual for the scope but it seems to be a specially built hybrid circuit mounted on a thin plate of ceramic. Both ch1 and ch2 have the same plate but ch1 is broken into a few pieces. I de-soldered it and tried to piece it back together with some wire scraping and sloppy soldering but to no avail. This is a nice looking scope and would love to get it going. I have no knowledge of oscilloscopes or how they operate aside from some very limited uses. It seems the part is from the Ch1/Ch2 pre-amp circuit but when I examine the schematic it simply shows a block diagram of this IC10 component. The Hitachi part number is IC10/UH-100/8410385. The parts description says its a hybrid ic unit. Keep in mind I'm just a dumb auto mechanic but got an inquisitive side to me that allows me to fix (and break) lots of things. I also explored the idea of integrating a similar component from ...say a tektronics scope but.....only hitachi is like hitachi. Anywhere I can possibly purchase components??? Nothing on Ebay and nothing in a general search so I'm out of luck at this point with a junk machine taking up space in my shop. If you look at the last photo, next to my finger, you can see the white ceramic plate broken and about 2" away is Ch2 ceramic plate in good shape. If I cannot find any parts or anyone to assist with fabrication information then ill remove Ch2 and install in Ch1 and leave Ch2 dead. At this point I'm considering the unit junk.
Thanks for your time!!!!
Richard
Butte, Montana, USA

Attachments

• 20180128_202228[1].jpg
    20180128_202228[1].jpg
    345.3 KB · Views: 136
  • 20180128_202240[1].jpg
    20180128_202240[1].jpg
    285.8 KB · Views: 131