Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hi Everyone from Calgary

CalgaryPT

May 7, 2017
Hello everyone -

I just joined today. Not sure why it took me so long to find a electronics forum, but glad I am here. I've been building circuits for 40+ years now, and grew up next to a Radio Shack in Calgary, Alberta (which started me on the addiction I guess). I am no professional, but can design and build small circuits and modify many to get the job done. I was a Forrest M. Mims fan from the age of 10 or so when I started reading his Engineer's Notebooks. I later learned he moved from science to liberal arts (English) just like me, so I liked the guy even more. He even responded to an email I sent him years ago (nice guy!) Some people have sports heros, but this guy was my hero. Yeah....I'm a geek.

Anyways, I am retired now. I do metal working and electronics as hobbies. It's great to have time to get back into electronics more. Somewhere a decade ago or so when I wasn't paying attention, surface mount technology took off. Sadly, my eyesight isn't good enough to get into this. But its fun to watch progress.

I am interested in learning new PCB techniques. I just started teaching myself Fritzing, but have yet to send off for a board. I wish there were a way to transfer these designs to your own board and etch them yourself.

Anyways...that's me :)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Howdy.

I can relate to much of your background, including the eyesight stuff.

I am pretty heavily into surface mount, even though I now have trouble reading the colour bands on 1/2 W resistors -- with my glasses on!

There are two things I rely on. First is magnifying headsets, second is the ability to solder by sense of smell (even if I'm not deaf and dumb, and don't have disciples to lead me about).