Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hi all, interference?

Chasingwires

Apr 4, 2014
I'm new to electronics, currently going to school for electronic engineering tech and I do it relative to cars and hybrid systems at work.

My question involves interference in cables in a vehicle. We switched to shielded cable and it barely made a dent in it and recently, I learned about rl (resistive inductive) filters in electronics theory class. You can block out low or high frequencies and only pass the other, I am guessing it is commonly used in radios. This may be a ridiculous question, but why can't that be included for cables or wires with bad interference? Or why can't rl filters be made to block out high and low frequencies at the same time? I also wondered if there were other methods to help this situation.

I am very new to wiring and looking into experiments to learn and try things out. I appreciate this site and I hope this question isn't just nonsense.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Welcome to the forum.

Shielded cables work well, shielded cable is used on microphones and bigger coaxial cables are used for radio frequencies. The cables will output what is input.
A car will produce lots of interference from the generator, ignition and a multitude of DC motors. The only way to reduce the interference is to suppress at source.

A low pass filter will pass low frequencies.
A high pass filter will pass high frequencies.
A band pass filter will pass a band of frequencies between high and low. Radios use a lot of band pass filters to select the channels required.

If the interference is on the wanted frequency, there is little you can do about it, for example, fluorescent lights can cause severe interference on radios and switch mode power supplies are dreadful.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Shielded cables work well, shielded cable is used on microphones and bigger coaxial cables are used for radio frequencies.

just a small correction .... and bigger cables are used for higher power.