Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hi all, from a different tradesperson.

ChristianB

Nov 16, 2018
Hello guys and girls.
My names Christian and I'm from England. I'm a cabinet maker by trade, but I've been the stay at home dad for the last couple of years, plying my trade at craft fairs with rustic or shabby chic wood crafts. In the new year, I really would like to expand into a more modern resin/wood home lighting and sculpture type of affair. I have had my fill of organic homeopathic soaps, crocheted teapot warmers and beaded jewellery.
I really need advice on the legality of selling self made lighting in the UK before I can continue.
Any and all help would be much appreciated!
Over the last twenty years or so, I've been no stranger to rewiring sockets, continuity testing power tools and machinery and many other electrical odd jobs. But they have always been on a fix it yourself or do without basis.
I should be able to wrap my head around some basic lighting without too much fuss, but I defer entirely to your expertise.
Im going to go throw up a thread specific to my needs, then read everything I can thats relevant to my interests.
Its a pleasure to meet you all :)

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
I would imagine you will have to get some form of electrical certification for each and every product type if they in any way connect to mains supply.

That would cover the electrical requirement, then I imagine there would be other consumer related certifications that would cover things such as say small bits that kids have access to that they can shove in their gob or whatever. List would be rather long and I would imagine approaching some government agency would be a good move. ( and a solicitor as well just to be on the safe side)
How deep are your pockets?

ChristianB

Nov 16, 2018