Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with voltage doubler

Young

Feb 6, 2013
I studied this circuit through the whole night but i dont get a single thing of how it doubles a voltage,please am a noobie or novice if i make mistake please dont insult just correct me i believe you are knowledgeable than i am thats why i registered so i could gain knowledge ok...from what i understand the capacitor charges because its connected to d negative left side directly why the positive charge pass through the diode to the positive side of the capacitor thus enabling it to charge then later releasing it from what i see thats the only thing i can guess,i have googled for more than 5hr all they tell me is there is a clamping etc i dont understand pls help

Attachments

• 220px-Positive_Voltage_Clamping_Circuit.svg.png
    220px-Positive_Voltage_Clamping_Circuit.svg.png
    4.2 KB · Views: 162
Last edited:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
HI,
I will leave some explaining to others...
BUT just one thing ... Can you please use proper text/spelling
PLEASE DONT use text messaging shortened words .... it makes it really difficult to understand what you are saying :)

Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You're not the only one confused. Look here.

BTW, your image is almost as unreadable as your txt.

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
Think of the diode as a switch. For half of the power cycle it is closed, for the other half it is open. When Vin is negative the diode is forward biased (closed), no current flows through the load (shorted by the closed switch), and the capacitor becomes fully charged (minus left, positive right). When Vin goes positive the diode is reverse biased (open), the fully charged capacitor reinforces Vin and this double voltage appears across the load. So what would happen if the load were a capacitor?

duke37

Jan 9, 2011