Connect with us

Help with transistor switches please!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by tranquilityeden, Sep 12, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. tranquilityeden

tranquilityeden

Sep 12, 2012
    Hello All,

I am a brand new member and am desperate for a little help!

I am an absolute noob at electronics but have been given a job by my boss that I need some help with. I have a prebuild, functioning circuit that I want to switch on and off using another circuit. I have been told that this can easily be completed using a transistor as a switch.

I am using a program called Flowol 4 (I am a teacher btw) which is a very basic graphical computer programming package for children that can be combined with a CoCo control box. The result is that using the computer connected to the control box I can turn an output on or off. The output is simply two wires providing 6v. I hope to get this control box's output circuits to control a remote control vehicle. To do this I have opened the remote control unit. The remote control is battery powered and uses rocker switches to make circuits which control the movement of the vehicle. What I want to do is control the vehicle using the remote control but replace the rocker switches with the outputs from the control box.

A friend of mine suggested using a transistor as a switch. I have done a little research but am way out of my depth on this (I am a biologist!). I have been told that using a transistor and some resistors on a PIC board I can make a switch that is turned on when the 6v control box circuit is switched on (vehicle moves forward) and switches off when the 6v control box circuit is switched off (vehicle stops).

I have a RS componants store nearby but have no idea what to ask for. If anyone could tell me which transistor and resistors I need and an idea of how to combine them I would forever grateful!

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010