Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with time counter for wildlife research

Z

zebeste

Jan 1, 1970
Background: I'm a wildlife biologist with a background in computer programming. I also had some basic EE experience and digital logic experience when I first started in college, but what skills I had have degraded significantly over the last 8-9 years. Basically, I'm not helpless when reading simple schematics and datasheets; I can usually figure out from a high level what a circuit is supposed to do, and given enough time, can trace through individual components and pins to figure out how everything works from from a low level standpoint. Where I fail is actually designing the details of a circuit from the ground up, especially figuring out the placement of resistors, capacitors, etc, and their respective values.

The project: I do small mammal trapping involving large grids of traps. I want to attach to our traps a circuit that activates when the trap door closes and keeps track of how long it has been closed. When we arrive at the trap, we can record the time from a 7-segment display along with the current time, which allows us to determine the time at which the trap closed. This information potentially has several uses for me.

Parameters: I'd like to have it be able to run for 24 hours using rechargeable batteries. Ideally the clock would be set to increment the counter every minute, but a 5 minute interval would be acceptable if the cost savings is significant enough. I'm aiming for a $10 budget, which seems reasonable given the prices I've been able to find on digikey for things like clocks and timers. Ideally though, $5 would be awesome. The reason being that I'm aiming to make at least 10 of these things, hopefully 50-100.

What I have so far:
IMG_20150327_170949538.jpg