Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with slowing down and reducing the noise on a shaded pole 230VAC fan motor

DIYGuy

Apr 27, 2018
Hello everyone, I'm new here.

I have a small 8" tri-blade fan assembly with a shaded pole AC motor - 230V, 60Hz, 35W that I find very noisy even at the slowest speed. It uses a Towei 3410 rotary switch with an Off-Hi-Med-Lo (L-3-2-1) settings.

20180424_143730.jpg

I tried plugging the fan into a 110V outlet of an AVR to slow it down. It did reduce the noise and this is how I'm using it. But now the speed is a bit too slow for my liking even at the highest speed.

I'm not an electrician, but I do have some skills soldering and assembling simple led projects. I don't know what's exactly inside the rotary switch. I think that the three wires going into what looks like a transformer or coil are the ones responsible for the different speed.

I've read through some threads on the web and my best uneducated guess at the moment is to try a series capacitor suggested at https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/23962/what-do-i-need-to-make-230v-ac-fan-spin-slower.

Ideally, I want the fan plugged into the 220V 60Hz mains but with a slightly reduced voltage going into the motor so that the fan will just be quiet enough. Will the series capacitor suggested above work for my particular case? Any other suggestion on how this can be accomplished without spending too much and not burning the house down?

Thanks in advance.

DIYGuy

Last edited:

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Firstly, you are playing with fire if you use this fan in an open environment.
It is only single insulated and no earthing into the bargain.
Shaded pole motor is also a synchronous motor meaning it's speed is dependant on mains frequency.

Would be more sense to use a low voltage fan and a plug pack.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011