Connect with us

Help with simple circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by gremonk, Sep 4, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. gremonk

gremonk

Sep 4, 2011
    I am a beginner in electronics and I am trying to get down the basic concepts. I am familiar with ohm's law and have been trying to build a simple ciruit on a bread board just to get a feel for things. I am running into a problem that I don't understand and was wondering if someone could shed some light on it for me. I have a 9V battery on a circuit. I am using a 100 ohm resistor. According to my calculations, I should be getting 80mA of current on this circuit. When I test the circuit I am getting 2.5A both with and without the resistor. Voltage is also uneffected by the resistor. I've tested the resistor and used multiple resistors to make sure it wasn't a matter of defective components. I am very confused first about why I would get 2.5A without resistance instead of 9A and why my resistors are having no effect on voltage or amperage. Can someone please help me understand what is happening on my ciruit?

2. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    With a 9v battery across a 100 ohm resistor (you didn't specify the wattage), your full 9v
    battery voltage is dissipated across the resistor. Most 9v volt batteries these days are
    actually in excess of 9v when they're new. At 100 ohms, there is very little resistance in
    your circuit, and damned-near full current running through your resistor. Your battery and
    resistor will overheat, almost a short across your battery.
    Theory is nice. The practical effect of 100 ohms across a 9v battery is serious heat in
    a hurry.

3. gremonk

gremonk

Sep 4, 2011