Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with sensing a stopped sprocket

craig forcht

Sep 20, 2016
Hi all. I am somewhat familiar with electronics, meaning I know what most components do. but I am not an electronics engineer by any means. In fact I probably know just enough to be dangerous. so I am seeking more experienced help for this little project.

The application is a simple low speed mechanical machine that has an electrical motor with a VFD controlling rpm. The VFD has an external fault circuit (open/closed) to interrupt the motor operation when triggered. The machine uses a mechanical friction clutch that overrides in the event of a machine jam.

I would like help designing a simple circuit that will control a relay or similar to trip the fault circuit in the VFD should the machine jam and the sprocket stops turning. I have a Cherry GS1005 gear tooth speed sensor I bought hoping to figure this out myself. but alas. Its outside my capabilities. Any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
The Prox sw has a open collector NPN output so you should be able to interface direct to the VFD depending of whether the input is sink or source, see pdf.
What is the part No. of the VFD?
But if you need to detect a stopped condition only then you will need a missing pulse detector that can be made from a 555 IC very simply.
Also known as a Watchdog timer.
M.

Attachments

• sinksource.pdf
    257.6 KB · Views: 115

craig forcht

Sep 20, 2016
Thanks for the reply. the VFD is an Automation direct GS2-10P2

Yes I need to detect a stopped only condition. where a relay or what not will trigger the fault circuit to stop the motor.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
You could use the output of the 555 direct into the DI3 which is External Fault input and is a sourcing input so when pulses are present the 555 will be high and will output a low on pulse fail, Google 555 missing pulse detector.
You should not need a relay.