Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with Realistic speaker with built in amp

DickFreed

Aug 6, 2021
The thing just suddenly stopped working while playing a keyboard through it. I can plug it in and hear some slight static, but no loud hums or anything that is concerning(loud).

First question being, as I’m new at attempting repairs, I was randomly checking the diodes with my DMM in diode mode and noticed that they gave around .590 V forward biased, but every one also gave around 2.5 V reverse biased. These were the 4 that lay right beside each other so guessing they are part of the power supply. I was expecting each to show an open circuit. I tested them in circuit. I guess I’m doing it wrong?

When plugged in, the “ON” led glows, so i guess at least some power is going somewhere.

Once I figure out how to correctly test the aforementioned diodes, could I have a suggestion as what to test next?

https://imgur.com/a/uecJxGc

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Once I figure out how to correctly test the aforementioned diodes,
Testing components in-circuit is notoriously difficult and mostly will require special tools. Remove one leg of each diode from the PCB, then test again. This way other components on the PCB cannot change your measurements.
could I have a suggestion as what to test next?
Not next but first: Check the supply voltages within the amp, check any fuses.

DickFreed

Aug 6, 2021
Testing components in-circuit is notoriously difficult and mostly will require special tools. Remove one leg of each diode from the PCB, then test again. This way other components on the PCB cannot change your measurements.

Not next but first: Check the supply voltages within the amp, check any fuses.